Our Board

Our Board2018-09-29T14:52:34+00:00

Dr Douglas Cavaye, Chairperson

Doug Cavaye is Associate Professor of Surgery, and member of Senate at the University of Queensland. He is founder and chairman of the Vascular Foundation, past-president of the ANZSVS, and examiner in vascular surgery.

Research interests have focused on minimally invasive vascular intervention, with particular regard to intravascular ultrasound imaging. He has published two texts on vascular imaging and catheter-based intervention guidance. He sees the Vascular Foundation as critical to promotion and support of academic vascular surgery in Australia and New Zealand.

Dr Nick Boyne

Dr Boyne is a Vascular Surgeon who works at Wesley Hospital and the Royal Brisbane Hospital. He has experience with all aspects of vascular surgery, particularly carotid, aortic and lower limb salvage. Dr Boyne also has wide experience with renal access surgery, varicose vein surgery and management of diabetic foot problems.

Dr Boyne graduated from medical school at the University of Queensland in 1992 and spent his General Surgical training in various hospitals throughout Queensland, but based mostly at the Royal Brisbane Hospital. He was granted the Fellowship of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons in 2004. Dr Boyne also holds the appointment of Senior Lecturer at the University of Queensland.  Dr Boyne has been extensively involved with the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons and the Australian and New Zealand Society for Vascular Surgery since obtaining his Fellowship. Dr Boyne was Chair of the Board of Vascular Surgery from 2012 – 2014 and is currently the ANZSVS Treasurer.

Professor Rob Fitridge

Professor Rob Fitridge is Head of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, Royal Adelaide Hospital and Professor of Vascular Surgery at The University of Adelaide.

He has a long-term interest in the diabetic foot and in wound healing of chronic leg wounds. He is a member of the International Working Group for the Diabetic Foot and a member of the steering committee of the Global Guidelines for Chronic Limb-threatening Ischaemia.

Rob was chair of the ANZ Board of Vascular Surgery 2004-06, president of the ANZ Society for Vascular Surgery 2010-12 and President of the World Federation of Vascular Societies from 2011-12.

He has published on modelling of outcomes after endovascular aortic aneurysm surgery, worked on iliac artery morphology analysis and was recently basic science section editor for the Oxford Textbook of Vascular Surgery

Dean Morrison

Dean Morrison has 20 years of experience in the accounting and financial sector with a wealth of knowledge on finance-related matters, such as tax compliance and internal accounting.

Dean began as a graduate accountant at a chartered accounting practice in Melbourne in 1993.  In 2001 he became an audit manager before becoming chief financial officer at a sport’s insurance underwriting agency remaining in the insurance industry until 2012.

Dean is currently an associate at CHN Herold Ross in East Ringwood.

Professor Andre van Rij

Professor Andre van Rij is the Ralph Barnett Professor of Surgery at the University of Otago. and senior vascular surgeon at Dunedin Hospital. He is Director of the Vascular Research Unit and the Vascular Diagnostics facility in the Department of Surgical Sciences.

He has published in a wide range of surgical areas including the genetics of vascular disease, aortic aneurysm screening, bariatric surgery, clinical priority scoring, nutrition, surgical decision making, clinical audit as well as in venous disease.

Andre has been President of the New Zealand Association of General Surgery and the Vascular Society of New Zealand, the New Zealand Censor for the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons. He is Chancellor of the Australasian College of Phlebology.

Dr Harry Gibbs

Dr Harry Gibbs is a graduate of the University of Sydney. He trained in Cardiology and Vascular Medicine at St. Vincent’s Hospital, Sydney with subsequent training at The Cornell University Medical Center, New York. He has been the Director of the Department of Vascular Medicine at the Princess Alexandra Hospital in Brisbane, the Director of Cardiology at Lismore Base Hospital and is currently the Program Director of the Outpatients Program, Deputy Director of General Medicine at the Alfred Hospital and Director of Medicine at Sandringham Hospital in Melbourne. He is an Associate Professor of Medicine at Monash University. His interests and are cardiovascular and general medicine, with a particular interest in thrombosis and anticoagulant therapy.